top of page

What are Chakras?

It’s said that the chakra system originated in India back between 1500 and 500 BC in the oldest texts called the Vedas (Sanskrit and Hinduism scriptures). Chakra is a Sanskrit word which literally translates to wheel or disk. It can also refer to whirlpool or whirlwind (chakravakam).

There are various maps created of the chakra system. There are actually thousands of complex channels and points (think acupuncture and the meridian lines) as well as major central and side channels. Although there are 7 main chakras, some say there can be up to 114! This includes above and below our physical body (subtle body or astral body).

But not to worry about all those, today we’re going to be focusing on the 7 main chakras.

The 7 main chakras, which align with the spine, starting from the base of the spine (root chakra) through to the top of the head (crown chakra).

Chakras are like vortexes of swirling wheels of energy where the physical and consciousness meet. This energy is called Prana, the vital life force, which is what keeps us vibrant, healthy, and alive. Each chakra corresponds to massive nerve centers and major organs in the body. Each of the 7 main chakras also contain our psychological, emotional, and spiritual states of being.

The goal is that our 7 chakras stay open, aligned, and with the energy moving fluidly between each of them and also connecting them all. If there is a blockage in one (or many), then the energy can’t flow throughout our body and creates stagnant energy which over time will manifest in various imbalances (emotional, physical, etc).

Keeping the energy flowing freely within our body and our chakras open is much easier to do when you have awareness of them and what an imbalance might feel like. Helping to balance one also helps to bring and keep the others in balance as well.

The following is a breakdown of the 7 chakras, what each represent, what physical body parts are associated with each, crystals and essential oils used to help balance them, as well as what symptoms you might feel if there is a block.

1. Root Chakra

Sanskrit Name:

Muladhara [Mool = root, adhara = support]

This chakra, as per its name, relates to groundedness, our survival instincts, and basic needs. This chakra is our foundation and is all about feeling safe and secure. It’s connected with how we nourish ourselves (food + water), as well as our home, shelter and money, and on an emotional level feeling safe and letting go of fear.

Color: Red

Element: Earth

Location: Base of spine


Survival, security, stability

Physical Body:

Feet, knees, legs, kidneys, adrenals, perineum, base of spine, large intestines Crystals: Bloodstone, Garnet, Ruby, Red Jasper

Essential Oils:

Arbovitae, Basil, Cedarwood, Myrrh, Patchouli, Vetiver, Fir, Balance Blend, On Guard Blend.

When it’s blocked:

A variety of ailments can occur from energetic blockages of this chakra. Often including anxiety disorders, fears, disconnection from body, and poor boundaries. Physically, the first chakra is associated with problems in the colon, bladder, lower back, legs, or feet issues.

Positive Affirmation:

I am a divine being of light. I am peaceful, protected, and secure.

2. Sacral Chakra

Sanskrit Name:

Svadhishthana [Swa = one’s own, Adhisthana abode or seat | aka: one’s own base]

This chakra is responsible for our creative and sexual energies. It’s also our connection with others and new experiences and having healthy boundaries.

Color: Orange Element: Water

Location: Slightly below navel


Authentic creation, creator, soul fire, sexuality Physical Body:

Reproductive organs, urinary system, spleen, low back Crystals:

Carnelian, Citrine, Orange Calcite, Fire Opal

Essential Oils:

Black pepper, Cinnamon, Cypress, Tangerine, Orange, Citrus Bliss Blend, Purify Cleansing Blend, Clary Calm Blend, Whisper Blend

When it’s blocked:

Energetic blocks in this chakra will often lead to feelings of emotional instability or feeling uninspired creatively. Fearing change, lack of desires, or addiction-like behaviors are also common. On a physical level can be linked with disorders of the reproductive system, menstrual difficulties, and sexual disfunction.

Positive Affirmation:

I am authentically creating a life free of stress and full of bliss.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra

Sanskrit Name:

Manipura [Mani = gem, Pura = city | aka: lustrous gem]

This chakra is your source of personal power, ruling over self-esteem. It controls our ability to be confident and in control of our lives. It’s also associated with fear, anxiety, and our sense of purpose. It governs all things metabolic, digestive, and stomach related.

Color: Yellow Element: Fire

Location: Slightly above the navel


Power, self-worth, self-confidence, self-esteem Physical Body:

Spine, spleen, upper abdomen, gallbladder, pancreas, small intestines, digestive system, metabolism Crystals:

Amber, Golden Topaz, Sunstone, Citrine, Yellow Calcite

Essential Oils:

Bergamot, Cassia, Clove, Fennel, Ginger, Grapefuit, Juniper Berry, DigestZen/ZenGest Blend, Slim+Sassy/Smart+Sassy Blend

When it’s blocked:

Energetic blocks in this chakra can often be seen as low self-esteem, having difficulty making decisions, and may have anger or control issues. On a physical level most imbalances will be seen in the digestive system and metabolic systems like diabetes and hypoglycemia.

Positive Affirmation:

I am powerful, confident, and successful in all my ventures.

4. Heart Chakra

Sanskrit Name:

Anahata [unstruck or unhurt]

This chakra represents where the physical and spiritual meet. Although governs all organs of the chest, it’s also all about our ability love and the awakening to spiritual awareness. When your heart chakra is aligned and balanced, love and compassion flow freely in both giving and receiving. Our inner peace.

Color: Green Element: Air

Location: Heart region


Love, joy, inner peace Physical Body:

Heart, lungs, thymus, breasts, arms Crystals:

Amazonite, Chrysocolla, Emerald, Rose Quartz, Green Aventurine

Essential Oils:

Cardamom, Eucalyptus, Geranium, Lime, Marjoram, Melaleuca, Peppermint, Rose, Thyme, Ylang Ylang, Serenity Calming Blend, Elevation Joyful Blend, Breathe/EasyAir Respiratory Blend